Meet the Members of the Tea Party Caucus

Flickr/<a href="">Gage Skidmore</a> (<a href="">Creative Commons</a>).

Let our journalists help you make sense of the noise: Subscribe to the Mother Jones Daily newsletter and get a recap of news that matters.

Rep. Michele Bachmann’s newly formed Tea Party Caucus met for the first time on Wednesday morning.

The group, which Bachmann describes as “a listening ear to tea parties,” is now comprised of 24 33 House Republicans. A write-up of the press conference will come shortly (you can now read the full post here), but below is the starting line-up of members to whet your appetite.

Update: FrumForum reports that not all of Republicans listed as members appear to have actually joined the caucus. Staff members for Rep. John Mica (R-Fl.) and Rep. John Fleming (R-La.) said Wednesday afternoon that they didn’t believe their bosses had joined. And the press secretary for other members said they were not aware that the roster would be publicly released today. The list has since been pulled from Bachmann’s website, and the names below are from a list that Bachmann’s press secretary had distributed at a press conference earlier Wednesday morning.

Another Update: Bachmann’s staff re-posted the caucus list on their website. Two members on the original list, Rep. Mica and Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-Fl.) have been removed. But five more have been added: Rodney Alexander (R-La.), Rob Bishop (R-Ut.), Tom Graves (R-Ga.), and Denny Rehberg (R-Mt.), and Adrian Smith (R-Neb.).

Todd Akin (MO-2)
Michele Bachmann (MN-6)
Roscoe Bartlett (MD-6)
Joe Barton (TX-6)
Gus Bilirakis (FL-9)
Paul Broun (GA-10)
Michael Burgess (TX-26)
Dan Burton (IN-5)
John Carter (TX-31)
John Culberson (TX-7)
John Fleming (LA-4)
Trent Franks (AZ-2)
Phil Gingrey (GA-11)
Louie Gohmert (TX-1)
Pete Hoekstra (MI-2)
Walter Jones (NC-3)
Steve King (IA-5)
Doug Lamborn (CO-5)
Cynthia Lummis (WY)
John Mica (FL-7)
Gary Miller (CA-42)
Jerry Moran (KS-1)
Mike Pence (IN-6)
Tom Price (GA-6)
Pete Sessions (TX-32)
Lamar Smith (TX-21)
Cliff Stearns (FL-6)
Todd Tiahrt (KS-4)
Joe Wilson (SC-2)


Headshot of Editor in Chief of Mother Jones, Clara Jeffery

It sure feels that way to me, and here at Mother Jones, we’ve been thinking a lot about what journalism needs to do differently, and how we can have the biggest impact.

We kept coming back to one word: corruption. Democracy and the rule of law being undermined by those with wealth and power for their own gain. So we're launching an ambitious Mother Jones Corruption Project to do deep, time-intensive reporting on systemic corruption, and asking the MoJo community to help crowdfund it.

We aim to hire, build a team, and give them the time and space needed to understand how we got here and how we might get out. We want to dig into the forces and decisions that have allowed massive conflicts of interest, influence peddling, and win-at-all-costs politics to flourish.

It's unlike anything we've done, and we have seed funding to get started, but we're looking to raise $500,000 from readers by July when we'll be making key budgeting decisions—and the more resources we have by then, the deeper we can dig. If our plan sounds good to you, please help kickstart it with a tax-deductible donation today.

Thanks for reading—whether or not you can pitch in today, or ever, I'm glad you're with us.

Signed by Clara Jeffery

Clara Jeffery, Editor-in-Chief

payment methods

We Recommend